Dimsum Week At JW Marriott Mumbai

JW Marriott  in association with The Flood Bloggers Association of India hosted an exclusive Bloggers Table , to showcase the formers latest addition of Dimsums to the current menu of its inhouse Asian Restaurant Spices. They celebrated the launch by holding a week long Dimsum festival at JW Marriot wherein all the latest additions to the menu of Dimsums were served. I got the privilege to attend this exclusive bloggers table and I will share with you guys the entire gastronomical experience and whether its yay or nay for me!!

Dimsums which are indeed one of the best gifts given by the Chinese to the world food community is a style of Cantonese food prepared as small bite sized or individual portions of food  traditionally served in small steamer baskets or on small plates. Eating dim sum at a restaurant is usually known in Cantonese as going to “drink tea” (yum cha), as tea is typically served with dim sum. However, coming back to the Dimsums served from the kitchen of Chef Tenzin Khechok , they did not fail to give me the  authentic Cantonese experience here in Mumbai making my taste buds dance to the oriental flavours. The lipsmacking dimsums did make me travel in a heavenly world for once evoking the traditional salty and sour flavours. But being a vegetarian, I had very limited options on my platter. Also the variety served in vegetarian tasted a bit repetitive, which left me bit disappointed. I will take you through all the Dimsums that were served.

 

Veg. Shitake Mushroom
Veg.Truffle and Edamame Dimsum
Veg. Shanghai Pan Fried
Spinach Roll with Prawn and water chestnut
Sticky Rice with Prawn and chicken in Lotus leaf
Prawn Crab and Chive Dumpling
Hot Chocolate Bun

Amongst all the Dimsums that were served, Hot Chocolate Bun Dumpling  and Veg Shitake Mushroom  clearly stole the show for me. The brown and white textured dough of Bun filled with Chocolatey goey was a rare dish. Also although I couldnt taste (being a vegetarian) but among the Non vegetarian dishes, Spinach Roll with Prawns and water chestnut was clear winner amongst the gathering. Overall the ambience was good and service was also above average. Meal for two would cost you around approx 2000 (without alcohol).

Its a thumbs up from me to the latest additions of Dimsums made to the menu of Spices at JW Marriott Mumbai from the Kitchen of Chef Tenzi Khechok. So guys go ahead and try some lip smacking Dimsums at the ongoing Dimsum Week at JW Marriott, Mumbai and do share with me your experience. Bon Appetit 😀

Until next time,

Aishwariya Sarawgi 🙂

Leave a comment